Skip to main content

Timeline :: Devolution for Scotland

Silhouette for no photo

Following a referendum, limited devolution was given to Scotland, granted by Royal Assent to the Scotland Act on 19th November 1998, with social work, health and housing devolved to Scotland, while social security was reserved to the Westminster parliament.

The new devolved government made up of 129 Members of the Scottish Parliament began its life in 1999. The new Scottish Executive was a coalition of Labour and lIberal Democrats, who held control from 1999 to 2007 through two election cycles. In 2007, the Scottish National Party won 47 seats to Labour’s 46, and formed a Minority Government.; they later won outright in the 2011 Scottish Parliament election, and went on to press for an independence referendum, subsequently held in September 2014.  In 2016, the SNP formed another mInority Government.

Source: James Mitchell (2018) ‘Social work in a system of governance’, in Cree, V.E. and Smith, M. (Eds) Social Work in a Changing Scotland, London: Routledge.