Skip to main content

Timeline :: Edinburgh Seven matriculate

Silhouette for no photo

The Edinburgh Seven were the first group of matriculated undergraduate women students at any British university. They began studying medicine at the University of Edinburgh in 1869, and although they were not allowed to graduate and so qualify as doctors, their campaign for recognition gained national attention and put women's rights to university education on the political agenda.

It was 1893 till Edinburgh allowed women to graduate; Chystal Macmillan was the first woman to graduate in science, earning a BSc in 1896. This was also the first year that women were able to graduate in medicine. For more information on the Edinurgh Seven, follow this link.