Skip to main content

Social Work: People

Search

People

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Claire Buchan Subject Academic Support Officer - Social Work & EdCMA 3.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 6515 067
Claire.Buchan@ed.ac.uk
Gary Clapton Senior Lecturer adoption and fostering,fathers and fatherhood,children and families social work practice,moral panics 2.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3903
Gary.Clapton@ed.ac.uk
Viviene Cree Emerita Professor of Social Work Studies gender and social work,social work history,social work profession,research with children,reflexivity in research,Feminist research practice,Diaspora,Migration & Transnationalism B.28 
19 George Square
Viv.Cree@ed.ac.uk
Karen Dargo Student Support Officer - Sociology and Social Work G.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1306
karen.dargo@ed.ac.uk
John Devaney Centenary Chair and Head of Social Work Child protection,Child Welfare,Domestic and gender based violence,Social work interventions,Child and Adolescent Development 2.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5363
J.Devaney@ed.ac.uk
Carol Duncan Child protection,Looked After Children,Family support,Birth family contact,Children's Hearings System,Decision-making  
Noureen Ehsan Student Support Officer 1.11 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1532
Noureen.Ehsan@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Golightley Mad Studies,Anti-Oppressive Social Work Practice,Therapeutic Communities,Young People in Care,Social Policy,Domestic Abuse,Feminism,Intersectionality,Peer research,Peer Support,Homelessness,Narrative Inquiry,Disability Studies,Queer Studies,Trans Studies,Qualitative Research Methods,Critical Pedagogy,Service User Research  Sarah.Golightley [at] ed.ac.uk
Jackie Gulland Lecturer in Social Work Rights,Law and Regulation,welfare systems,gender and public policy,disability,Social History,Socio-legal,Social care,Family Caregiving,Older people 2.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
I am currently working from home - please contact me by email.
jackie.gulland@ed.ac.uk
Rania Hamad Criminal Justice,Hate Crime,Prejudice,Restorative Justice,Effective Interventions,Gender and Crime,Criminology,Social Work practice,Balance of power  s9902293@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chad Lance Hemady Policy,Social Epidemiology,public health,Resilience,stress,Sexual and Gender Based Violence,Early intervention policy and practice,social work interventions  Chad.Hemady@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Senior Lecturer in Social Work, School of Social and Political Science community mental health,culture and health,ethnography,well being,South Asia,'global mental health' 2.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Jan McClory Teaching Fellow 2.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3913
jmcclory@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Steve Kirkwood Senior Lecturer in Social Work; School Director of Postgraduate Research Programmes; Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy Criminal Justice,Restorative Justice,Asylum,Discourse Analysis,Identity,Refugees 2.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6646
s.kirkwood@ed.ac.uk
Yukti Lamba Children's Rights,Adult-child relations/interactions,Child protection,Children and Young People  s1777800@ed.ac.uk
Pearse McCusker Senior Lecturer in Social Work Mental Health,Adult Safeguarding,Critical Mindfulness,Critical pedagogy,Participatory Action Research,Social Work Law and Ethics 2.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)7793 403082
pearse.mccusker@ed.ac.uk
Avril McIvor Senior Teaching Fellow 2.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511486
A.McIvor@ed.ac.uk
Hamido Megahead Childhood and Youth Studies,Qualitative research,Children and Young People,transition studies,research with children,Egypt,marginalization,Non-governmental organisations,Care experience,NGOs and Development,Young men,Residential childcare  H.Megahead@sms.ed.ac.uk
Franziska Meinck Lecturer Violence against Children,Sexual and Gender-Based Violence,Intervention Research,Violence Prevention,Child Abuse,Families and HIV,HIV/AIDS,Violence Measurement,Parenting Programmes,Social Determinants of Health,adverse childhood experiences,sexual risk behaviour,Mental Health 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 1785
Franziska.Meinck@ed.ac.uk
Mary Mitchell Lecturer Participation,Childhood and Youth Studies,Child Welfare,social work interventions,families,repositioning positions of power,looked after children,Recognition Theory in social work practice,community social work,reimagining outcomes,Qualitative Research Methods 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6511530
Mary.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Eve Mullins social work profession,sexual offending,effective practice skills,social constructionism  s0825174@sms.ed.ac.uk
Toyin Adenugba-Okpaje Citizenship,Support for young people with a care history,profession of social work,Outcomes-based approach,Teenage mothers and identity,Dementia  07425097720
s1565542@sms.ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Senior Lecturer | MSW Programme Director | Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, UK HIV and AIDS,asylum seekers and refugees,Human rights,surrogacy and cross border reproductive services,international social work and social development,diversity and marginalisation,migration, social inclusion and citizenship 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Autumn Roesch-Marsh Senior Lecturer in Social Work and Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy Decision making,gender,Social Work education,Social Work,children and families social work practice,Participation,social pedagogy,Empathy,Care experience,Relationship-based practice,Risk,organizations and institutions,African security 2.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3870
a.roeschmarsh@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Rose emotional resilience,Well-being,social workers,adult services,organisational culture  Sarah.Rose@ed.ac.uk
Pascal Rudin Children's Rights,'global mental health',ADHD,Family,Education,discourse analysis  Pascal.Rudin@ed.ac.uk
Lorraine Waterhouse Professor of Social Work (Emeritus)  Lorraine.Waterhouse@ed.ac.uk
Bill Whyte Professor Emeritus; Honorary Professorial Fellow; formerly Professor of Social Work Studies in Criminal and Youth Justice  B.Whyte@ed.ac.uk