Skip to main content

Social Work: People

Search

Our Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Gary Clapton Senior Lecturer adoption and fostering,fathers and fatherhood,children and families social work practice,moral panics 2.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3903
Gary.Clapton@ed.ac.uk
Viviene Cree Professor of Social Work Studies gender and social work,social work history,social work profession,families & HIV,research with children,reflexivity in research,Inequality & diversity B.28 
19 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3894
Viv.Cree@ed.ac.uk
Ariane Critchley Child protection, Working in partnership with young people,Children and Young People,,Kinship and motherhood,social work,Children and childhood,Childbearing,Perinatal care and support  A.R.Critchley-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
Karen Dargo Student Support Officer - Sociology and Social Work 1.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1306
karen.dargo@ed.ac.uk
John Devaney Centenary Chair of Social Work Child protection,Child Welfare,Domestic and gender based violence,Social work interventions 2.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5363
J.Devaney@ed.ac.uk
Daniela Duff gender mainstreaming,International theory,Human rights,Feminism,Global south,Migration and development,Ghana,Social Policy,women's movements,poverty,social protection,Elder,gender equality,Innovative Research Methods,Sustainability  +44 (0)7379 107 288
Daniela.Duff@ed.ac.uk
Carol Duncan Child protection,Looked After Children,Family support,Decision making,Birth family contact,Children's Hearings System  carol.duncan@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Golightley Sociological Theory,Mad Studies,Anti-Oppressive Social Work Practice,Therapeutic Communities,Boarding Schools,Young People in Care,Social Policy,LGBT,Transgender,Domestic Abuse,Feminism,Intersectionality,Peer research,Peer Support,Homelessness,Narrative Inquiry,Disability,Disability Studies  Sarah.Golightley [at] ed.ac.uk
Jackie Gulland Lecturer in Social Work Rights,Law and Regulation,welfare systems,gender and public policy,disability,Social History,Socio-legal,Social care 2.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 8256
jackie.gulland@ed.ac.uk
Rania Hamad Criminal Justice,Hate Crime;,Prejudice,Criminology,Effective interventions,Action research,Gender and crime  s9902293@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Senior Lecturer in Social Work; International Director, School of Social and Political Science community mental health,culture and health,ethnography,well being,South Asia,'global mental health' 2.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Jan McClory Teaching Fellow 2.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3913
jmcclory@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Bethany Jennings International Social Work,Sex Work,gender,Low income employment,Bangladesh  s1357388@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Salim Kaya fathers and fatherhood,Adult-child relations/interactions,Parenting,Sociology of Religion  Salim.Kaya@ed.ac.uk
Steve Kirkwood Senior Lecturer in Social Work; Postgraduate Advisor for Social Work; Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy Criminal Justice,Restorative Justice,Asylum,Discourse Analysis,Identity,Refugees 2.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6646
s.kirkwood@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Deepa Kuriachan  D.Kuriachan-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yukti Lamba Children's Rights,Adult-child relations/interactions,Child protection,Children and Young People  s1777800@ed.ac.uk
Avril McIvor Senior Teaching Fellow 2.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511486
A.McIvor@ed.ac.uk
Mary Mitchell Lecturer Participation,Childhood and Youth Studies,Child Welfare,social work interventions,families,Reimagining Outcomes,repositioning positions of power,looked after children 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6511530
Mary.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Eve Mullins social work profession,sexual offending,effective practice skills,social constructionism  s0825174@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hadijah Mwenyango refugees/migration and displacement;,Women's Health,Children's Rights,Risk and vulnerability,Social Work Service Provision  +44 7786536924
H.Mwenyango@ed.ac.uk
Victor Paz Oliva residential child care,social pedagogy,Education and social change  v.paz-oliva@sms.ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Programme Director - Masters in Social Work HIV and AIDS,asylum seekers and refugees,Human rights,surrogacy and cross border reproductive services,international social work and social development,diversity and marginalisation,migration, social inclusion and citizenship 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Autumn Roesch-Marsh Senior Lecturer in Social Work and Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy Decision making,Risk,Looked After Children,gender,Social Work education,Social Work,children and families social work practice,Participation,social pedagogy,Empathy 2.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3870
a.roeschmarsh@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Rose emotional resilience,Well-being,social workers,adult services,organisational culture  Sarah.Rose@ed.ac.uk
Pascal Rudin Children's Rights,'global mental health',ADHD,Family,Education,discourse analysis  Pascal.Rudin@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Simpson The use of mobile technologies by Looked After Children to contact members of their social network  S1268616@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lorraine Waterhouse Professor of Social Work (Emeritus)  Lorraine.Waterhouse@ed.ac.uk
Bill Whyte Professor Emeritus; Honorary Professorial Fellow; formerly Professor of Social Work Studies in Criminal and Youth Justice  B.Whyte@ed.ac.uk